One Year Later…

August 12, 2016 I officially announced (on Facebook and Instagram Insta Announcement) that I would be graduating from high school a year early to attend college to become a high school teacher. Facebook kindly reminded me of my announcement and it made me want to reflect on the last year. It has been one of lots of planning, anxiety, and stress. And it has also been one of lots of excitement, accomplishment, and joy that I have finally reached a stage in my life that I have looked forward to for a long time.


July/August 2016 

I began planning to graduate early in eighth grade by taking all the necessary credits and earning credits over the summer so that if I did decide to go through with the plan, I could, and if I didn’t want to, I would continue on to my senior year and that would be that. The end of July I decided I wanted to graduate in the spring of 2017. I sent an email to my school counselor (that woman is the main person that helped behind the scenes to help me reach my goal) and that’s pretty much how this hectic year began. My schedule was changed around a little and miraculously, not only had I earned enough credits to graduate early, I had earned some college credits along the way AND I only had to take four classes at my high school my senior year.

September 2016

I spent September adjusting to a new class of people. You don’t realize how attached you were to your graduating class until you decide to up and leave it. Now granted most of my friends were juniors so it’s not like I didn’t see them at all, but September was when I realized for social things (pep rallies, sports, etc.) I would no longer be participating as a member of 2018 and now as a member of 2017. It was a bit daunting because I didn’t really know anyone from that class.

October 2016

October was a lot of fun! I was in the midst of my last football cheer season, my last homecoming was just around the corner, I had just submitted my college application for Miami and I was soaking it all up. It sounds shallow, but cheering under the Friday Night Lights and homecoming were two things I was really going to miss. October was also when I had adjusted a little better to taking a history class off campus and at UC Blue Ash – the local university branch. Honestly, the class was super boring but the professor was really entertaining.

November 2017

This month was when I really began to question some of my choices. And it began with breaking up with my last boyfriend. I actually ended up getting back together with him (a dumb teenager move but one I would still make if I could have a life do over) and I spent November dating him. It literally lasted a month and like four days and during that time, I truly learned why it really didn’t work out and felt the disappointment of it all over again but in a different way that was necessary to let him go all the way. Ah yes, the relationship drama. While it was annoying, it’s comforting a little to know that I was able to close that door with him because I was afraid that I would go to college and still wonder about him. I now know that’s not going to happen and I’ve finally cut all ties with him – socially and emotionally.

December 2016

I was in the midst of full blown miniature life crisis by December and if it weren’t for a couple of really amazing teachers and Sycamore staff, I probably would’ve been a lot more of a mess than I was. However, some highlights of December included Winter Break where I got to visit my dad’s family in Kansas where I announced that would be graduating that year. It was fun to talk with my cousin who was also graduating about college and majors and such. Another highlight was my college history class was over and ended up with an A and my American History credit for school – another step towards graduating early. The best part of December though, was that I was accepted into Miami University!! I became even more excited about graduating and it became even more real that I was going to do it.

January 2017

New year! What I remember from January was interning in two classrooms (both very different from each other) and absolutely loving both of them! It really solidified my choice to go into teaching and helped me realize that teaching is truly what I want to do. January was also a calm month in terms of college because I had been accepted so now it was time to wait for more information to come out about tuition, classes, roommate searches, etc. It was also when my senioritis really really kicked in. January was the start of my last second semester of high school so I got incredibly lazy with school work and pretty much anything to do with school. I’d say I’m ashamed to admit that but honestly everyone (including senior teachers) felt the same way and hey, I ended my last year of high school with all A’s so it’s all good.

February 2017

February was a really fun month in terms of my competitive cheer season. We had the most competitions and I got to travel to Columbus for one of them. I had a ton of fun in cheer and I became a lot closer to the other senior on my cheer team. School was going really well and it wasn’t quite time to start stressing about college stuff (though I was, and I spent a lot of time in my counselor’s office and my teaching teacher’s classroom freaking out and they were both always very kind and patient with my freak outs). I continued to have a really great time in both my classroom internships and learned so much about teaching and what goes into it!

March 2017

March was when the rubber really hit the road. I found my roommate, began getting more information about my major choice, really invested time into my teaching internships, and began to prepare for graduation. It was quite a busy month. I was also preparing for college tryouts and participating in competitive cheer competitions that had higher stakes than the ones before. Honestly, March was such a busy month that I don’t really remember much from it.

April 2017

And the busyness continued! April I had the cheer tryouts at Miami. I didn’t make it because I didn’t have the tumbling skills and to this day, I still struggle internally about this. I wonder when I will either let it go, or continue to try… ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ April I spent a lot of time in my counselor’s office double and triple checking to make sure everything was all set for me to graduate. After all, I wasn’t going to let that year go by only to find out I had missed a credit and wouldn’t be able to graduate. Again, April was so busy and hectic that I don’t remember much from it.

May 2017

May was when the fun stuff happened. I think May 2017 was the most chaotic and wonderful month of my life emotionally and just in general. First, I began to fight a lot more with parents and in hindsight, I think that was because I was stressed and we all were realizing that this was going to happen and I would be leaving soon. Trying times for all three of us. But we all got over it and it all worked out 🙂 Next, I know it really hit me that I’d be graduating. The same way it hit all of us seniors but I felt it a little differently because I sat in the auditorium with a class of people I had barely just began getting to know, I really hit me that I was going through a stage in my life without people by my side that I always thought would be there. Sure I had made some really great friends from the class of 2017, but it was still a little bit hard for me to accept that I wouldn’t be with my 2018 friends anymore. Again, I got over it with time and I’m sure it’ll always be something that I occasionally think about but that’s ok. I’d say the easiest part of May was my academics. By May, all my classes had pretty much winded down for me because I didn’t have to take exams so I basically just maintained my grades and then I was done. I’m proud to say I ended my high school career with all A’s 🙂 And then graduation came. What a day, it was one of the most memorable and best moments in my life and that night, I realized that I had 100% made the right decision to graduate that year and it really allowed me to wallow in the achievement and excitement of that evening. I was a Sycamore alum and a future Redhawk ❤️

June 2017

Compared to the previous school year, June was quite a relief. I was into college, out of high school, roommate and meal plan was selected, and I had a summer job. Things were going well, and they continued to do so. I had my grad party which was a lot of fun and I’m really glad some of the adults I invited were able to make it, specifically my freshman history teacher. I also reconciled with an ex friend in June and now we talk regularly. I’m really glad that I had reached a place in my life that I was able to reach out to her and bury the hatchet. I also began work as a waitress in June, and I really liked it! I was making good money and I had a little spending money as well. One of the big highlights from June was college orientation! I met Julia, my roommate, met my advisors, met other people in my major, and got my schedule. I really enjoyed orientation and what it represented – I was about to go to college. Oh, and I also discovered blogging! 🙂

July 2017

Work. That was basically my July. I put in 35-47 hour work weeks and while I was pretty much living in a state of exhaustion, it was worth it because I was able to make a ton of money and that was a good feeling. In my rare moments of free time, I found an interest in animation and cartoon drawing. I’m still dabbling around with it because I haven’t really had a lot of time to fully explore it, but I plan on trying to make a small animation with the couple of weeks I have left before going to school. I also began going through finances with my dad for college (that was pretty stressful) and I’m incredibly thankful that I won’t have to take out any loans this first semester.

August 2017

And it comes full circle! Here I am a year later and a lot closer to pursuing my dream job. It’s been a great year and while it did have some lows, the highs balanced them out and the reality that I’m going to be going to college. Anyways, August has been interesting. I finished up working at Bob Evans for the summer, did a ton of last minute stuff for Miami (paid my bill, finished the summer homework, etc.), and went on two mini vacations. I also flew without a parent for the first time and that was super cool! 🙂 And on August 24th I’ll move into my home away from home. I’m super excited and I can’t wait to see what the future holds for me!


Click the links below to read up on some of the events that I mentioned in this post! 🙂

How I Finished High School in 3 Years ←

Student Teaching as a Highschool Student ←

10 Things I’ve Learned From Cheerleading ←

Highlights From My High School Graduation ←

I’m Here To Serve (You Food) ←

~ TEA

Leave a comment